Selected Free Resources

A tool developed by the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center to help users determine the nutritional value and/or adverse effects of herbs and dietary supplements using evidence-based information.

Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.

CDC guidelines and resources for the treatment of Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs) / Sexually Transmitted Infections (STIs).

DailyMed is the National Library of Medicine (NLM)'s comprehensive, searchable database of medication content and labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs for both human and animal use, as found in FDA-approved medication package inserts.

Provides a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC. More than 12,000 drugs can be searched using this facility.

Drugs@FDA provides one place where you can search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs. The main uses of Drugs@FDA are: Finding labels for approved drug products. Finding generic drug products for a brand name drug product. Finding therapeutically equivalent drug products for a brand name or generic drug product. Finding consumer information for drugs approved after 1998. Finding all drugs with a specific active ingredient.

Provides drug information by drug name or by condition for the public and professionals. Covers "Care Guide", "Drug Interactions", "Pill Identifier", and "Image Search" sections, and offers the latest news on drugs.

Geared to the healthcare practitioner and nursing mother, LactMed is a free online database with information on drugs and lactation. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider.

A free online tool to help identify generic and brand name prescription drugs by imprint, shape, color, form, and scoring. The database includes more than 10,000 tablets and capsules.
Disclaimer: this site may display paid advertisements.

Presents a database of approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations, provided by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Allows users to search via active ingredient, proprietary name, application number, or applicant holder.