The James M. Anderson Center identifies best practices, connects research in one area with its practical application in another, and partners with outside organizations to bring new knowledge to healthcare. The site features their Evidence-Based Care Recommendations, which can be browsed by topic, by specialty or discipline, or by type of guidance (domains of intervention, therapy, etc.).
Geared to the healthcare practitioner and nursing mother, LactMed is a free online database with information on drugs and lactation. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider.
The Lhasa Carcinogenicity Database (LCDB) contains all data from the National Library of Medicine's original Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPD), and has since been supplemented with additional data. The LCDB is a freely available, searchable repository of 7,745 long-term carcinogenicity studies covering 1,726 chemicals. The interface allows users to build complex queries around both structures and associated data, including species and chemical name.
MedlinePlus is a health information website for patients, their families and friends, and the general public. Health topic pages on MedlinePlus contain links to topic-specific searches of PubMed/MEDLINE. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing citations to biomedical literature in the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
MedPageToday is a trusted and reliable source for clinical and policy coverage that directly affects the lives and practices of health care professionals. Physicians and other healthcare professionals may also receive Continuing Medical Education (CME) and Continuing Education (CE) credits at no cost for participating in MedPage Today-offered educational activities.
The National Guideline Clearinghouse(tm) (NGC) is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. The site is sponsored by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) (formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research [AHCPR]) in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP).
Framework developed by a group of physicians, uses rating system to evaluate therapies based on their patient-important benefits and harms as well as a system to evaluate diagnostics by patient sign, symptom, lab test or study.
OPENPediatrics is a free and open access online community of clinicians sharing best practices from all resource settings around the world through innovative collaboration and digital learning technologies.
An online, menu-driven factual database which provides information about cancer treatment, prognosis, supportive care, screening, and prevention. PDQ is the Institute's most up-to-date source of cancer information. The database consists of three main types of information: cancer information, summaries/guidelines, protocols, and directories.
The National Clinical Guidelines are developed and introduced to help standardize; whenever possible, the management and treatment of patients across the Qatari healthcare system, whilst simultaneously optimizing both outcome and resource utilization.
The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) provides reports in patient-friendly language on more than 1,200 rare diseases. Each report provides a basic introduction with links to resources for additional information and assistance. NORD offers free access but requires registration to view a full report, with a maximum of two reports per day.
Health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. Expert laboratory and medical professionals develop and review all content, including articles on lab tests, conditions/diseases, screening, clinical laboratory topics, and lab test news.